Grade 4 – Elephant Mandalas

03This was a simple but very fun project that the grade 4s loved!

I introduced the class to Mandalas (or rather refreshed their memories from a grade 3 project we had done the previous year). I showed the class various elephant mandalas as well as one I had done myself. I then gave them a template of an elephant that I had made in gimp. The one they had didn’t have an ear template though and I think I liked that better as they all made their own shapes. They had to paste their template onto mounting board before cutting it out and designing!

elephant_design
This is the template they used.

How the learners wanted to decorate their elephants was up to them! Their only restrictions were that they needed an eye and an ear. Some of them added things which I hadn’t foreseen as well! We had unicorn elephants and wizards as well as elephants with top hats.:)

Once finished I took them and stuck them on coloured A4 paper for a background. So many beautiful elephants! 😀

0406050201090807

Leave a Reply

